Meet Bob….

I would like everyone to meet a new acquaintance of mine.  Or really, I guess you could call him a friend, because we are pretty close.  Even though he just came into my life last night….

It’s a custom for my family to sign Christmas cards together- my mom will label them, write any personal notes to those receiving them and then all 6 of my siblings and I will sit down in a little assembly line kind of thing(because none of our Christmas cards would be complete without one of them, right?).  Always in chronological order.  Always.  

As I’m sure you can understand, some names are harder(or just take longer) to write.  Some people have 7 different letters in their name, some of us only have 3.  There is also the difference of signing to consider.  Some of us sign cards much like a movie star- quickly, and then on to the next.  Others of us put a little more work into it.  I am the only one with just 3 different letters in my name(although the total comes to 6, just so you know!).  And I was very much in movie star mode last night….So given those two factors, I should’ve been the one who could sign my name fastest.  But unfortunately, that was not the case- I put too much loopiness into my name, which takes a while!  

Anyway, during some of the gaps in card-signing some of us started talking about the possibility of inserting an extra name into the long list, and seeing if anybody noticed!  There are a lot of names to read and I would totally understand if everybody doesn’t go down the long list to read every single one of them.  I probably wouldn’t if I was in their spot.  But maybe I’m lazier than the average individual.  Who knows?  Anyway, we never did *quite* convince my mom that putting “Bob” in the middle of our names was a fantastic idea.  Only certain people on our Christmas card list would understand.  That is, if they noticed. 

During a different gap in signing, the siblings on either side of me got bored.  Not having a card in front of them to sign, but having a perfectly working pen in their hand, they started signing the next closest things…..my arms.  Lucky me.  

One of them drew a simple smiley face and a line.  The other drew what looked like an angry 6-year-old saber tooth tiger, who was missing one of his two front teeth.  Gotta hand creativity over to that one….

Then came Bob.  Because we couldn’t just talk about putting his name on our Christmas cards without him making an appearance!

    
This is Bob. Bob meet everybody.  Everybody, this is Bob.  He was quite the friendly chap, kept everybody laughing, told my mom that he loved her, and had the cutest yawn ever.  And check out those eyebrows!

Then we finished signing cards, I washed my arms, and Bob left.  Maybe he’s like Frosty and will come back next year!  

I hope you enjoyed meeting Bob and are having a great Christmas season!!!

2 thoughts on “Meet Bob….

Leave a Reply

