Try Pulling Oil

Any guesses on the meaning of the title?  Because if you think about it literally, it would be incredibly, you could say impossibly, hard to actually pull any type of oil!  I mean, it’s so slippery and….oily!

What does it mean?  Once explained, the term makes sense but still isn’t totally obvious to the world.  Oil pulling is a process in which the person doing it puts 1-2 tablespoons of oil in their mouth and swishes it around for 20 minutes.  People do this all the time for fun.  Haha, that’s absolutely not true.  20 minutes seems like a long time, but it’s really not if you do something else while you are swishing.  Call it multitasking.

The real reason anybody would stick oil in their mouth for any length of time is for their health.  I found this idea on the internet when looking for natural ways to get rid of cavities.  Last time I went to the dentist, I was told that there was a “watch spot”, which means if I don’t keep my mouth SUPER clean and healthy, I’ll have a drill waiting for me next time I drag myself to the dentist.  Being that I already loathe going to the dentist without the added stress of a cavity, I began looking for simpler(and less painful) options.  One of the first things I came across on Google was this thing called “oil pulling”.  At first, I was just reading “this works great as a natural teeth-whitener, blah, blah, blah”.  Not helpful.  Then I read further.  Oil pulling works as a natural whitener because of what it does- it detoxifies your mouth.  The oil “pulls” bacteria and toxins from your mouth, and as we all know the mouth is one of the most bacteria-filled places in our bodies.  In pulling toxins out, the overall health of your mouth increases as well.

That was where I really began to like that idea.  Detoxing, getting rid of my semi-cavity, and natural teeth whitener!  I’ll take it.  So, about a month ago I began the process, and one of my sisters did as well.  She of course has healthy teeth, but she liked the sounds of the other benefits.  We have noticed some minor differences, but a major difference is how clean our mouth feels every day!  After doing our little ritual, our teeth feel clean all day long, no matter what food we eat.

I feel like I should share the cons of this little venture as well.  There is only one as far as I can tell(other than using 2 tablespoons of oil a day, but that’s really not that much).  The only bad thing I have found about oil pulling is the first 5 seconds of putting the oil in your mouth.  My sister and I use coconut oil(that was the best recommended), and while I enjoy the “taste”, the texture is gross.  I know, I’m really making you want to try this aren’t I?  If our house is warmer, the oil that sits on the counter is melted and no problem to put in your pie-hole.  That’s the way it was when we began.  Since it has gotten warmer outside, we have turned the air-conditioning on though.  The coconut oil became a solid.  I very nearly spat the whole thing out when I tried it as a solid the first time.  Imagine putting a tablespoon of shortening in your mouth, with coconut flakes in it.  That is exactly how it felt and tasted.  But after about 10 seconds, it melted and was fine.  I’ve kind of grown accustomed to it.  It’s really not all that bad for the health benefits that are gained!  Maybe I’m the only one with texture issues….

Added bonus: my sister and I do it first thing in the morning when we wake up.  The “plus” of doing this is I don’t have to talk to people for the first twenty minutes of my day- a win-win for everyone.  I will be the first to admit that I am not a morning person.  So ta-da!  Yet another benefit of oil pulling.

If you aren’t sold on at least trying it, that’s okay.  I don’t work in sales anyway.  You won’t hurt my feelings.  😉  But I just thought I would share this with you!  Should you decide to try it because of my amazing nonexistent persuasive skills, please let me know!  I would love to hear how it works for you.

Now you are aware- the term oil pulling is actually the oil pulling toxins out of your mouth.  Not a whole bunch of lumberjacks playing tug-of-war with oil somehow (that was the mental picture I got when I thought about it).  While that is an amusing idea, it seems very improbable….

Oil pulling!  Who knew, right? 😉

Have you tried anything new in the past month?  Maybe a little more exciting than swishing coconut oil around in your mouth?  As always, thank you for reading, and have a great day!

16 thoughts on “Try Pulling Oil

  1. I had never heard of this! The only thing that I had done that came close to putting oil in my mouth, was trying bulletproof coffee. You mix coffee, coconut oil together and it supposed to boost your metabolism. Bleh. Not so good.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I thought you were joking at first lol. I’m gonna have to go get some coconut oil! Although, 20 minutes sounds like a long time. I hate waking up early so it might be a struggle to do it in the morning. 😝 thanks for sharing!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve heard of oil pulling before and am so interested in giving it a shot! Seems to have many different benefits and is quite affordable! Thanks for sharing your honest experience with oil pulling 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Hooray! A fellow oil puller! …but I haven’t actually oil pulled in a few years… But anyway, I actually knew what the post was about when I read the title! *high fives health freak friend*

    Whenever I put in my 20 minutes of swishing oil, I did it while taking my shower, ’cause you don’t need your mouth then anyway. And I agree, the initial texture of the coconut oil is a tad repulsive, but thankfully it melts.

    You’ve inspired me to start pulling oil again! (…but why in the world does a mental picture of lumberjacks pop in your head when you say that?? After I read that, now all *I* can think of is burly, plaid-shirted men in a forest with an oil geyser. Thanks, Hannah. 😉 ).

    Liked by 1 person

    • You never told me that!?! It’s nice to finally find something in common! 😛
      You’re quite welcome for the mental picture. Don’t ask where it came from- I don’t know.
      Thanks for commenting! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

