The Fifth of March

Well, howdy do!  It’s the fifth of March, also the 1st Thursday of the 3rd month of 2015.  Just a reminder- this weekend is also Daylight Savings.  Losing one hour of sleep one day for an extra hour of sunshine every day after that?  I’ll take it. 🙂

So, it is now March!  Spring and warm weather is getting closer and closer.  I can’t say that I can *feel* it yet, because it’s still cold.  But I know it’s coming.  And knowing that spring is coming, my family has started preparing for it!

First, my mom ordered chicks.  We have full-grown chickens right now, but their egg-laying/food-eating ratio isn’t working out too well- they eat too much food, and don’t lay enough eggs.  So every few years we get new chickens.  This is the year to get them.  I’m not sure exactly which breed she got, but I’m sure it’s a good one.  She had talked about getting a breed that when she said it, sounded like ‘Hawaiian goats’.  I’m sure that’s not what she said, but that sure is what it sounded like.  Can you imagine what Hawaiian goats would look like though?  It’s quite the mental picture, you know, with the grass skirts and all. 🙂  Our little farm will also be holding chickens used for meat, for a time at least, until their residence moves to our freezer.  Which reminds me….

My dad ordered pigs!  Or at least I think it’s in the works?  Anywho, we should be getting more swine soon.  Raising pigs has only been tried once before, but it went pretty well so we are doing it again!  There were two here last year.  Their names were Sausage and Bacon.  Can you guess where they are now?  Yup, I don’t think I need to confirm your educated guess….

And finally, we have started planting.  Very minimal planting.  So minimal it fits in the house somewhere.  I’m not sure exactly what seed(s) it was that found its way into dirt, but I was informed after I got home from work yesterday that the planting has commenced.  At this point I am still looking forward to working out in our garden, in the hot dirt, under the sun, multitasking by trying to get a tan(probably wishful thinking right there….) and weed or plant at the same time.  That will likely change mid-summer, but it might not.  We shall see. 🙂

So now you know what we are doing to prepare for spring, once it comes again. 🙂  Until then, I will stay inside, knit some black and red socks for a coworker, and watch the snow and ice melt, among other things.  Which reminds me, I need to finish some bread I am making….

Well, thank you as always for reading!  If so inclined, let me know what you do to prepare for spring!  Have a lovely week, and don’t forget to switch your clocks this weekend!  Trust me, I know from experience that being an hour off of everyone else(especially an hour behind) is not a good way to start a week.  So there ya go, take it from someone who knows.  🙂  Happy March 5th!  Or whatever day it is that you are reading this….

4 thoughts on “The Fifth of March

Leave a Reply

