The Benefits of Knitting….

And how it can lead to World Peace. I bet you’ve never heard that one before! 🙂

You might have been wondering (or not) when I am actually going to write about knitting or knotting, because I haven’t since the beginning of my blog.  Well, here goes.  I’m going to explain how knitting could bring about World Peace (theoretically).  This is merely a humorous speculation (hopefully). To accomplish World Peace, we would need a lot less sin in the world, not just more yarn, and regrettably knitting rarely has that effect on people.  I should also inform you that this revelation ‘came to me’ when I was rather young, which may help you understand why it’s so impractical.

My brilliant plan for World Peace was to teach everyone to knit.  This way, those people with evil intentions would be too busy to carry out any of their plans….  Those people without any intentions at all would be given something to do…. Those with too many intentions would be able to relax with a simple knitting project and take their stress out on that….  And those who are formulating intentions could do something productive while contemplating!  Just imagine how warm the world would be!!! 🙂  That’s another benefit-  we could clothe so many needy people!  I’m just waiting to be contacted for my Nobel Peace award…. Just kidding!

Now, obviously there are flaws with this.  I am sensible of that.  For example, I know many people who have tried knitting already, and it just isn’t for them.  Maybe we could have World Peace through knitting and crocheting…. Another flaw would be all those poor little naked sheep, alpacas, bunnies, etc., that gave their way of staying warm to others….however, they can just grow some more.

Here are some practical benefits of knitting, if you made it through the silly speculations above. 🙂

  • It really does give you something to do, if your hands need an occupation while sitting at a doctor’s office, watching TV, etc.
  • It really is stress-relieving, depending on who you talk to, and what pattern they are working on….If it’s an easy pattern, yes, but if it’s involved, no, and don’t bother trying to ask them because you’ll cause them to lose count of their stitches or rows.  Not that I’m speaking from experience or anything…. 😉
  • It really is productive- you get a lovely handmade item when done, as opposed to having nothing to show for other things….like watching TV (which is why you should knit at the same time!)
  • It really is a great way to make some gifts!  That is, assuming those receiving the gifts actually need the item, and its quality renders it useful….I know some of the first gifts I made were *not* useful, that’s for sure.  In cases such as that, I like to think it’s the thought that counts…. 🙂

So, there you go.  Hopefully, if you were considering trying to knit, I have made you eager to start, and not scared you off!  The world could always use more knitters….even if it doesn’t lead to World Peace.

If you’d like to see an example (or two) of knitting, I’d love you to visit my shop on Etsy- To Knit or Knot.  Have a lovely day, hopefully with a little knitting, but I don’t wish any knots your way!

Do you have any ideas for World Peace, be they impractical or just plain silly?  Let me know in the comments below!

2 thoughts on “The Benefits of Knitting….

Leave a Reply

