‘Morals’ from The Amazing Spiderman 2

The evening after watching “The Amazing Spiderman 2” for the first time, I had three (rather silly) morals from the story.  There are probably other lessons to be learned (if that  happens to be your goal in watching Marvel films), but these are my three.  Rather, they could even be called ‘thoughts’ on the movie instead of morals, because some of them really aren’t the most coherent.  And, this is by no means a strict review of the movie, because I am not a strict movie critic and am totally without credentials. 🙂 So understanding that, here we go-

1. Love people

I was very saddened in watching the way some of the characters were treated, thinking “if only someone loved them, they wouldn’t be acting like that”.  Not the flippant “I love everybody” without doing anything to demonstrate it, but genuinely showing love and concern for others.  Without getting too deep here, I am working on this trait myself- living out 1 Corinthians 13, with the help of a great sermon preached at my church a couple weeks ago- here is the link.  Yes, it sounds very sappy, but I think it’s true.  With that in mind….

2. Stay away from psychos

In light of my last statement, this seems rather contradictory, but life would be much better lived without psychos.  They tend to do spontaneous, detrimental things, and it normally doesn’t work out too well for anyone in the vicinity.  Good luck figuring out how to make these two mesh- I haven’t quite figured it out myself if that makes you feel better.  But the last one is really easy….

3. Don’t be Spiderman’s girlfriend

****Spoilers****Don’t read further if you haven’t seen it.  Without explicitly saying what happens, it probably won’t (or doesn’t) work out so well for you in the end.  Just sayin’.  Not to say that Spiderman would make a bad boyfriend- I really liked the part of the movie that focused on Gwen/Peter’s relationship, but I figure there are plenty of great guys out there that don’t bring potentially life-threatening  consequences into a relationship. 🙂  Besides, I’d rather have Captain America!  No offense meant to Spidey fans, I just personally prefer Captain America.

There you have it- my three lessons learned from watching a fictional superhero movie.  But then, I think most (if not all) superhero movies are fictional….Perhaps that was a redundant description.  It all depends on how you define superhero. 🙂

Anyway, have a great day….And love people, while at the same time avoiding psychos, and don’t be Spiderman’s girlfriend.  🙂  Even if you are busy doing all of the above, I’d love it if you would check out my Etsy shop- To Knit or Knot?  Thanks!

2 thoughts on “‘Morals’ from The Amazing Spiderman 2

Leave a Reply

